Welcome to the NCMEA Jazz Section Home Page!

Join the ListServe for NC Jazz Educators!


The NCMEA Jazz Section is comprised of three regions: Central, Eastern, and Western. The counties in each region are listed below.

Each of the three regions provides a regional jazz band clinic for students selected from an audition process. Students who make certain bands at the regional level are then eligible to audition for All-State Jazz Band. The directors who have students auditioning at any level are expected to serve as audition judges.

Each of the three regions will provide a Jazz Music Performance Adjudication (MPA) event. Middle school and high school jazz bands perform for adjudicators’ feedback and ratings at MPA.

NC Jazz Region—Central

The NCJR-C will consist of the following counties:

Alamance, Anson, Caswell, Chatham, Cumberland, Durham, Franklin, Granville, Guilford, Harnett, Hoke, Johnson, Lee, Montgomery, Moore, Orange, Person, Randolph, Richmond, Rockingham, Scotland, Vance, Wake and Warren.

NC Jazz Region—Eastern

The NCJR-E will consist of the following counties:

Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Columbus, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Edgecombe, Gates, Greene, Halifax, Hertford, Hyde, Jones, Lenoir, Martin, Nash, New Hanover, Northampton, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Pitt, Robeson, Sampson, Tyrrell, Washington, Wayne and Wilson.

NC Jazz Region—Western

The NCJR-W will consist of the following counties:

Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, Cherokee, Clay, Cleveland, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Iredell, Jackson, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mecklenburg, Mitchell, Polk, Rowan, Rutherford, Stanly, Stokes, Surry, Swain, Transylvania, Union, Watauga, Wilkes, Yadkin and Yancey.